The memorial site has three parts: the museum, the teaching path and the cemetery, the latter two are freely accessible.
The teaching path for the history of the concentration camp Bisingen connects seven historic places with each other: the train station (arrival of the prisoners); the former camp terrain at the Schelmengasse; the kiln field, oil container, fan station and demolition edge of the former oil shale mining terrain in the “Kuhloch” (cow hole); KZ cemetery; terrain of the former mass graves in the Ludenstall.
The KZ cemetery holds the graves of 1,158 nameless victims of the KZ Bisingen. In 1946, these dead people were relocated from the mass graves upon command of the French military government.
The Bisingen museum houses a permanent exhibition showing the history of the KZ and of the oil shale work Bisingen. Entry is free. Larger groups of visitors can access the museum upon request. During guided tours, the large lower museum room serves as a forum for discussions. Also, presentations such as events and film screenings take place here.
In cooperation with the local community, the Memorial Sites Association Bisingen organises guided tours, workshops, events, etc. In doing so it sees itself as a place of historic/political education.
In order to perform this action you have to login